Hallelujah


There’s music, and then there’s music. I hate cliches but there’s something about listening to Leonard Cohen singing “Hallelujah” that doesn’t evoke anything closely related to Shrek. The bent-down, eyes closed, raw sound of this song made my lights go out, the candles flicker, and cleared the kitchen for some broom-dancing. All alone on a moonless, starless, autumn night, YouTube allows me all the sexy music I can find – or remember to look for.

My cupboard has music in it. Stuff like ZZ Top and Dire Straits and Lynyrd Skynyrd. A Simple Man can be sexy, right? A little spin of a furry guitar can heat things up, too, I suppose, but there’s nothing quite like a down in the dirt, gravely voice to get your attention and raise an eyebrow, put a little smile on your face.

I know this is short, but the music is good and, well, I’m all about a good dance partner in the dark…

2 thoughts on “Hallelujah

  1. I love Leonard Cohen. I haven’t heard any of his new stuff- if he even has any new stuff. I have several of his albums, but it’s been a long time since I’ve bought anything by him. What I have is on cassette tapes- CD’s were still a new thing at the time. I first heard him on Austin City Limits of all places. He most definately has a great voice. Why are you dancing alone gal? Just wondering. Nice post.

    • Thanks; it’s a night shift week but the music still plays. I’ve looked and looked for a few favorite old cassettes myself, some wonderrful mixes, but I think they lost their way, buried in boxes or beneath the cobwebs somewhere. If the music is good, it can be found again. If you like Leonard Cohen, you might like Greg Brown.

Thanks for reading; feedback welcome.

